Q #5 Unwanted gifts

What is the best way to deal with unwanted gifts?

a) tell people clearly that you would prefer something else, but still accept the gift.

b) imply that you would prefer something else, but still except the gift

c) imply that you would prefer something else, and accidentally leave the gift at the giver’s location (his/her office, home, etc)

d) accept the gift and hide it in your closet

e) accept the gift and later sell it

f) accept the gift and give it to other people you know (but don’t tell them you got it as a gift)

g) accept the gift and give it to someone else because you know they want it (and they know you got it as a gift)

h) accept the gift and donate it to a charity

i) accept the gift and later throw it out in the trash

j) accept the gift and put it on the street witha  sign that it is free so a needy person could use it

Explain your choice or choices and give 2 reasons for each.

This entry was posted in Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Q #5 Unwanted gifts

  1. Misao Tsuchiya #13 says:

    I choice to accept the gift and hide it in my closet. There are two reasons. Firstly, I think take for granted to accept the gift. Please imagine the situation where you give your friend a gift. If she hesitates to accept the gift, how do you feel? Probably, you feel sad and miserable. So it is the best to accept the gift whether you like or not. Secondly, you had better hide the gift in your closet. Because the time will come when you use the gift. It’s easy to throw away it, but through my experience, the gift is useful and you try hard to find the way of using it.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  2. Takuro Osumi #28 says:

    I think that we should choice “d) accept the gift and hide it in your closet” or “g) accept the gift and give it to someone else because you know they want it (and they know you got it as a gift)” There are two reasons why we should choice d). First, the most important point is not whether you want the gift or not. The gift is evidence that the giver loves you. And he bought the gift because he think that if you accept it, you will be happy. The true “gift” is love! So, we should not throw it out. If you can do, you are not human. Second, you may find the usefulness of the gift. Now even if you can not find the usefulness, you will find it in the future. And there are two reasons why we should choice g) accept the gift and give it to someone else because you know they want it (and they know you got it as a gift). First, it is good to use the gift more effectively by giving it to a person who want it. Of course, it is also good to treasure it always. But I think that the giver will be happy by knowing that the gift is made use of well. Second, I think you should tell a person who want it that this is a gift which I accepted. This is because it is bad to tell a lie.

    http://www.readersdigest.com.au/react-to-an-unwanted-gift

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  3. 2-B Yuya Kurihara #22 says:

    I choose to accept the gift and hide it in my closet (d) and accept the gift and donate it to a charity (h). I have two reasons for these. For the first reason to (h), accepting obediently does not wound a partner. If it is refused when you give, what do you think? Probably you will become sad. You should avoid it. For the second reason to (h), the time of using it may come on some day. There was such a thing on experience of it several times. And I have two reasons for (d). First, if it is in the place of those who need it, it may be helpful. If it does not use even if it is in your place, you should contribute for those who use. Second, donation leads to a social contribution. I think it great to bring society profits by your little action. For the above reason, I choose (d) and (h).

  4. Yoshie Watanabe #3 says:

    I choice to accept the gift and hide it in my closet. There are two reasons for this. First, I think to accept the gift is special thing. A gift is a sign that you are glad to me. If I reject your gift, you may deeply hurt and our relationship maybe damaged. So I should accept the gift with smile If it was unwanted. Because you chose the gift for me. Second, gift should be reserved. Later, I have a chance to remember the gift’s memory and use it. I should not throw away or sell a gift immediately since I accept it. Therefore, I choice to accept the gift and hide it in my closet.

    http://www.wikihow.com/Thank-Someone-for-an-Unwanted-Gift

  5. Kento Suzuki #12 says:

    My choice is to accept the gift and hide it in my closet. First, even if the gift is unwanted, it is a wholehearted gift. So accepting the gift is also accepting the person’s heart, and the action of receiving in itself is meaningful. Second, you can choose other way to deal with the gift subsequently to hiding it. I think it is not wrong to give up the gift behind the giver’s back after expressing my gratitude, though you should be avoid being noticed it by him/her. Still, I would like to accept the gift pleasantly and hide it for a while.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  6. 11 Mayo Nakaki says:

    I will explain (d) and (h). In the (d), it is a way to maintain human relations. There are two reasons for it. Firstly, the Japanese have weak point of declining. For the second reason, it is rude for person who hands gifts to throw out them. In the (h), it is a way to generate a benefit than we keep them. I have two reasons. For the first reason, by donating gifts, it may be a nenefit to help people.
    Secondly, to accepted people, I think they do not have guilty conscience. In fact, I may choose (d) and (h) in this scene.

  7. Takaaki Hashimoto 19 says:

    I choice to accept the gift and later throw it out in the trash. There are two reasons for this. Fistly, I think I throw unwanted gift away sometime soon. So I think we should throw it as soon as possible.
    Second, If there were unwanted gift in my closet. It take space to put away other ariticles. So I should throw it out in the trash. Things you do not need do not need

  8. Nae Numata #8 says:

    I’m going to choice (h). If I’m given an unwanted gift, I’ll donate it to a charity.
    I have two reasons for this.
    Firstly, should appreciate the heart of the peason who gave a gift for you whatever the gift is. Therefore I accept it.
    Secondly, I think that thing should be used by people who need it.They use more better than me.
    But I don’t donate it soon. I try to use it because I may become to like it. This is the good chance inorder to find my new favorite thing. However If I can’t find a good use of it, I’d like to donate it for people who use it.

  9. #32 Asuka Nakabou says:

    I choose (d) or (i). If my friends present unwanted gifts, I choose (d). This is because if I throw it out in the trash, my friends become sad and I think I am very sorry for my friends. And I’m very happy to be presented from my friends. So, I don’t throw it out in the trash and hide it in my closet. If company present unwanted gifts, I choose (i). First, company is diffrent from friends. So, company don’t become sad. Second, company also think that company’s gift will throw it out in many cases. I think they want to announce publicly. For that reason, I choose (i).

  10. 33-HayatoOkada says:

    I choice (d) . I have two reasons for this . For the first reason , eaven though my friend gives me unwanted gifts , I feel happy because feeling of my friend transmits me.
    For the second reason , because the gift is feeling of friends ,I can not throw away it .

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  11. Gaiya Kajino 10 says:

    I choose (d) and (h). There are two reasons why I choose (d). First reason is that I can escape to hurt giver’s feelings. If givers notice that I don’t have their gift, they may not trust me. Because, they think that I throw away their gift. Second reason is that unwanted gift may become necessary thing for me in the future. Now, there are two reasons why I choose (h). First reason is that even if unwanted gift is not necessary for me, it may be necessary for someone else. By this act, unwanted gift becomes wanted gift for other people. Second raeson is that donation is the action that think goodwill to be the most important. Donation differs from selfish actions as the disposal of rubbish or sale. So, givers will also satisfy this act. For the above reasons, I choose (d) and (h).

    http://www.benjaminisraelrobinson.com/how-to-handle-unwanted-gifts/

  12. Kana Aoike #7 says:

    My choice is to accept the gifts and hide it in my closet. There are two resons for this. Firstly, I don’t hurt feelings of my friends. If I give the unwanted gift from my friends to other people, my friends will be sad. Also, my friends will be angry and frendship will be worse. I think my friends are happy if I accept and put the gifts in my room. Secondly, I don’t need to use and throw the gifts. I will worry very much if my friends give the unwanted gifts to me. I don’t think that I throw, use or give other people it. So to hide it in my closet is the best way for me. Therefore, I choice to accept the gifts and hide it in my closet.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  13. Momoka Sakaino #24 says:

    I choice to d) accept the gift and hide it in my closet. There are two reasons. Firstly, I think that the person own which was sent should have a present. The sender will be sad if you refuse to accept his present. The sender thought about you and chose the present even if you thought it not to need it. Therefore you should receive a present. Secondly, I think that you should not throw away a present. You may want to sometimes use it, even if you do not need it now. The present will be useful sometime. Therefore, I choice to d) accept the gift and hide in it my closet.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  14. Risa Shiramine #2 says:

    I think it is the best way to accept the gift and hide it in my closet. There are two reasons. Firstly, I do not want the gift now, but I may need it sometime. I will feel that it was good to put it leaving a gift. I do not know what happens in the future. Secondly, I will hurt my friend’s felling if I throw away the gift. You must have bought a gift while you thought about me. For example, my favorite color, food, sport, artists and so on. It is the most important for me that you spend time about thinking me. When I think that, I feel happiness. So, I think we should choice to accept the gift and hide it in my closet.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  15. 2B (10) Shinji Asano #34 says:

    I choice to (d) accept the gift and hide it in your closet or to (h) accept the gift and donate it to a charity. There are two reasons for (d). Firstly, I don’t want to trample sender’s feeling. If sender knows that I throw the gift away, sender will be disappointed. Secondly, perhaps I am going to may want to use it someday. I may not use it now but will find a use for the gift. There are two reasons for (h). First reason, someone can use it more effectually than me. Someone may require it. Second reason, I want to diminish guilt for unwanted gift. Therefore, I choose to (d) accept the gift and hide it in your closet or to (h) accept the gift and donate it to a charity.

  16. 2-B-19 Yuki Shimada 4 says:

    I will choice (h). There are two reasons. First, I think I want to have sense of gratitude. So if I want not things, but I want not to show displeased face. I will say to giver thank you.
    Second,If unwanted gift will be your closet long time, It is not good. So I think I should transfer other people. The mind is very important. Often I give neighborhood clothes I can not wear.
    I always keep mind it appreciate to other people.

  17. #21 Takeshi Kobayashi says:

    I choice sentence that accept the gift and hide it in your closet. This is two reasons. Firstly, It goes without saying that gifts which are thrown is ungood.Secondly,I think that needless thing is hide it in your closet.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  18. 2-B Kyohei Yamauchi 29 says:

    I choice (d). I have two reasons. First, I don’t want to ignore the feeling which the present has. So I accept it when I get a present that I don’t want.
    Second, I think I use everything someday. If I don’t need it now, I may need it someday. So I will hide it in my closet.
    So I choice the sentence that accept the gift and hide it in your closet.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  19. Tomoki Kamite No35 says:

    I choose d). There are two reasons for this.Firstly, I think what a waste to throw out or sell the gift. Of cours, I have a feeling I should try to understand how the person who gives me the gift feels.And, as long as I was given, my responsibility is higher.But, moreover my thinking that I will try to turn unwanted gift to useful gift goes ahead.Secondly, I think I do not want to regret to disposal it. The situation frequently happens to me. I am at a loss whether to disposal or leave it.And, I choice leaveing it after all.So,I can neither sell nor throw out it.

  20. #18 Yuta Mashine says:

    I choice that accept the gift and hide it in your closet.
    Firstly, it is rude to except gift and throw away it.
    I think that thank you for receiveing gift.
    I’m sad…… If I give you gift, and you thrown it.
    secondly, what is necessary is just to use, taking out if it becomes using.
    and there is no place where I set and keep.
    Almost all Japanese act these behavior.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

      • kasmersensei says:

        Almost all Japanese act these behavior. = Most Japanese act this way = Most Japanese would do this.

  21. 2-B-31 Ryo Tanaka says:

    I’m sure if I had a present that I don’t want, I would accept it and keep in home without using. So, I choose an answer D. I guess the person give me a present likes me. So, he give me a present coz he likes me. I think the person got it should answer his feelings. Although it is a present I unwanted, we had better to be smile. If we don’t want, let it be that way. Sometimes the time will come when we need.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  22. 2-B-48 Kota Yoshimura says:

    I think that I should accept the gift and give it to someone else because you know they want it (and they know you got it as a gift). There are two reasons for this. First one is that if I am given unwanted present, I almost do not use this.Therefore I give it to someone who want it. I explain the second reason. Even if I was given unwanted present,I have to accept it. In Japan there are secial attitude that is Mottainai. Most unwantec present has many ways to use. So, I accept unwanted present.

  23. Kenta Maekawa #20 says:

    I wil probably choose (e) or (h). (a) is better in the case. But I can’t refuse good will, so I won’t throw it out. If it were really useless for me, I will hide in closet or give the other person. And it is trouble if this thing was knew by a person gave it me. So I will donate it to a charity. Even if I have, it is surely useless forever. It is easy to hide a present in somewhere. If good will is not made useless and it is helpful to someone, I think it is the best. Although I am sorry to presenter, if it is me, I will surely do so. But I will hide it for a while. Because I will be troubled if he or she asked me about it. I don’t want to be sad. I am glad only by getting a present. So if such a feeling is too strong, I may find how to utilize.

  24. Tatsuki Muroi 5 says:

    I think that the best way is tell people clearly that you would prefer something else, but still accept the gift. I has twa reasons. First of all, this is because I can have expectation on the next time by conveying gifts which I really wanted. There is not the worry to make a partner sad by accepting. Secondarily, this is bacause I may not accept it with a smile when I got unwanted gifts. I always show what I felt on a face immediately. Therefore, I want to convey my thought. Of course I tell the feeling of thanks together.

  25. 2-B Satomi Yoshizawa says:

    I choice “d” accept the gift,and hide my closet.
    Because the friend choose for me although he is busy.
    It is happy only the friend give me presents.
    And,I cant tell the friend that I dont like it, and I think there is not advantage.
    It is only rude act.
    I think the action the friendship is broken.
    I would accept the presents, pleasse in surface,acknowledge him.
    It is common sense.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  26. Kyoko Yamamoto 14 says:

    If I get the unwanted gifts, I may accept it and hide it in my closet. And then, I may sell it or throw it out in the trash. I have two reasons for this. Firstly, regardless of the contents of gifts, people give gifts to other people with kindness. And more people spend some money on gifts. So we have to treasure gifts for some time. But if I get the unwanted gifts, I cannot help cleaning up the gifts. Because it is meaningless that we hide gifts in our closet. To sell unwanted gifts and get some money is more useful to us. Secoundly, it is freedom of owner how treat gifts. When we get gifts, we get also some right about gifts. For example, the right of use it, throwing away it, and give it to other person. It is not so good as common sense that we throw away or give it to other person immediately. So for some time we should keep it in our closet. But time goes by, if our mind doesn’t change, it is ok that we sell it or give it to other people.

  27. 1 Shiori Ebisawa says:

    I will choice “d” accept the gift and hide it my closet. there are two reason for this. First, I think I,m glad to be given some gift by someone,even if the gift is unwanted one. I think gifts are heart of person who given it. Second,I think it is rude for person given gifts to tell what you do not like this gift. I think they cost many time to think what to give you,whether you are glad this gift. the gifts stsnd for your heart. I think this is important,when you give someone gifts.
    So I will choice “d” and do like “d”.

    • kasmersensei says:

      What if your closet is full?

      And then when the gift giver comes to your house and finds his/her gift in your closet, what do you do?

  28. Shohei Takahashi #15 says:

    The answer that at first I choose is (a). I do not need the thing which I do not want. However, I will receive it if it is a present. And I convey the thing which I want to receive for next. And the answer to choose next is (e). Becouse the unnecessary thing does not have value for oneself. So I think that it has a meaning to change an unnecessary thing into money. So I chose these two answers.

  29. Shodai Hirakawa 31 says:

    My choice is to accept the gift and give it to someone else because you know they want it (and they know you got it as a gift).FIrstly,I`m sorry to sell or throw away the gift for people who gave me the gift.So I can`t sell or throw away.Secondly,I think that it is better than to hide the gift in closet that to give the gift to people who want it.

  30. Jun Sudo #17 says:

    My choice is to accept the gift and later sell it. Because if it’s a gift receipt, however, I want to be clear on what I’ll be getting back. Usually, a gift receipt just gets I in-store credit. With friends and family I know well, maybe I can ask for the actual receipt and then get the money to spend on what I want. If I can’t get money back, but the store isn’t a place I’d find something I like, look around to see if there’s anything I can get someone else for an upcoming birthday or other event – it’s a different spin on regifting.

Leave a Reply

