Q #4 Trends

We will be looking at trends in various places. One trend recently is the number of dance style songs: hip hop, rap, etc

The last few dance music explosions were disco, electronica, rap, and hip hop.

Why is dance music so popular now? Do you like it? If so, what is your favorite dance video? (provide a link please)

What countries is modern dance music popular in? What countries is it not popular in? Why not?

This entry was posted in Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Q #4 Trends

  1. Misao Tsuchiya #13 says:

    The reason why dance music is so popular is that dance music reaches a variety feilds, which are hip, hop, rock, and so on. Clubbing at night with dance songs is passion for young people. The greatest Electronic dance music has inspired many to hits the dance floors.
    I like dance because when I was a high school student, I joined a dance club. My favorite dance video is Ningyaribanban, which is songed by Kyariipamyupamyu. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=teMdjJ3w9iM
    Modern dance music is popular in USA. Because many western music is made in USA. But China is not popular because many songs are imported and depend on USA.
    http://www.musicnfilms.com/top-dance-songs-2013-hits-popular

    • kasmersensei says:

      Wow, I only recognized Chris Brown, Rhianna, and Usher (I don’t listen to any of them regularly).

  2. I like dance music. Because dance music has song and dance, I can be enjoyed two sides of it. For example, EXILE, AKB48 and so on. Especially, EXILE has creativity like Choo Choo Train. But in these groups, it is great that there is ballad-like music as well as dance music. I think modern dance music is popular in America , France and Japan. For it, it is not popular in India. Because I think the dance of India is unique rather than a modern.

    http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=exile+choo+choo+train&view=detail&mid=59EEBC39744203C2586A59EEBC39744203C2586A&first=0&FORM=NVPFVR

  3. 2-B Yuya Kurihara #22 says:

    Dance music is so popular now. I think that dance music makes people fine and makes them cheerful. So, it is supported by many people, and it is continuing popular.
    I also like it. I like especially rap. Rap is often taken in by music of Japan, and since tempo is good, I like it.
    I think that if it is a country with music culture, dance music is popular anywhere. Because dance music is taken in aimost all the music. So, people have friendly feeling toward it. Dance music will also prosper more, since the dance has been becoming popularity recently.


    http://psychology.about.com/od/psychologyexperiments/a/music-and-personality-experiment.htm

  4. 2-B-31 Ryo Tanaka says:

    I love dance music. I always listen to it when I go to school by train. The music lifts my sprit. It isn’t only music to make me fun. I’m sure It makes a lot of people fun. I’m into Kyary Pamyu Pamyu, Sakanaction and Carly Rae Jepsen these days.

    I think modern music popular in developed countries such as Japan, USA, UK and France. Because of they have a lot of electricity generated by power plants, so they can use it much. Dance music needs a lot of electricity. I guess in the only countries having electricity much, dance music will be popular. And I guess it is one of the reason dance music being popular the artist like Kyary was popular with youtube, TV, web and so on.
    http://www.japantimes.co.jp/culture/2011/09/29/music/the-cute-n-kooky-world-of-kyary-pamyu-pamyu-japans-newest-pop-idol/

  5. 2-B-19 Yuki Shimada 4 says:

    The reason why dance music is so popular now is way to view our enjoy music is changing. My favorite dance music is Perfume. Her dance is so cute.Dance music is attractive to me. If it is unique, we will be more have interest in it. The number of people that imitate it. And we also like dancing. I am join cheer dance circle now. So we are sensitive to dance music.I think, in modern society dance and music is become integration.
    The country modern dance music is popular is Korea because I think the most prosperous country. A lot of new dancing singers are advancing Japan. Other hand, The country modern dance music is not popular is China. China have own traditional culture. China is not take foreign modern music in my opinion.

  6. I think dance music is not only so popular now but also music has been popular from the old days. But it is certain that music is so popular now. This is because I think a network society magnify all over the world. If you want to listen or watch music and video, you can listen music in You Tube or Apple store. So, network community or society accelerate to become music popular. And I like music! My favorite music video is thriller by Michael Jackson. His dance is so cool!

  7. Tatsuki Muroi 5 says:

    Dance music is very popular all over the world now. We can enjoy music in both ears and eyes. I think that this is the biggest reason why there was popularity in dance music in the world.
    I also like it. My favorite dance music is Momoiro clover-Z. I can feel happy when I watch them.

    However, Japanese dance music falls behind Korea of the rival now. K-pop attracts attention worldwide by the activity such as PSY or BIGBANG. I want world people to know the splendor of Japanese dance music.
    http://ygunited.com/2013/05/the-anatomy-of-a-huge-hit-why-is-psys-gentleman-such-a-big-success/

  8. Kento Suzuki #12 says:

    I think dance music is highly popular now because the number of pop idols has increasing particularly in Asia. They are required to be able to sing and dance. Recently such idol groups are conspicuous in Japan and Korea. I am not familiar with idol groups such as AKB48, Arashi (Johnny & Associates), Perfume, etc.

    In contrast I don’t think dance music is popular in the UK, because the country is the origin of rock music and rock band is out of harmony with dance music.

    • kasmersensei says:

      Actually there is a big club scene in the UK, where techno, house, and other types of electronica are played.

  9. #21 Takeshi Kobayashi says:

    I think that dance is more and more popular for people. Because Internet spreads people.For example, Internet shows dance video for people around the world. So people who watch dance video are impressed. I like watching dance. For example, “Nogisaka46”. “Nogisaka46 units dance. This dance is beautiful and cute.

  10. Takaaki Hashimoto 19 says:

    Dance music is not heavy. We can enjoy listening to it. There is no negative. And dancing makes us so fun. I think these are reason why dance is so popular.
    But I don’t like dance music very much. I have two opinion. Firstly, they don’t play a musical instrument. I like to listen to sound of a musical instrument. There is not a musical insutrument in dance music. Second, words are simple. It is common denominators.
    Of corse, it is not applied to all dance music. There are a lot of splendid dance music. I like smap.

  11. Kana Aoike No.7 says:

    I think that dance music so popular now because the number of dance music idols increase. Moreover, they are beginning to play an active part also overseas. I think dance music makes people fun and atractive them. Although I don’t dislike dance music, I don’t interested in dance music. However, AKB48 is very popular and has influence in Japan, and has extended activity to other countries.

    I think that the country modern dance music is popular is a country can use a network. For example, USA, Korea, Japan, and so on. Conversely, the country modern dance music is not popular is a country can’t use a network and watch television.

  12. Shodai Hirakawa 31 says:

    Dance music is so popular.I think too because most of my friends like dance music too.And I like dance music.So I often listen to dance music when I am in my room.I am in high spirit and cheer when I listen to dance music. Dance music cheer us.So now dance music is very popular.Now economy is stagnant and world is drooping.I think that people hope to be get well without reserve.My favorite musician is BIG BAN.Their music cheer me.In particular,FANTASTIC BABY is excellent tune.

  13. Momoka Sakaino 24 says:

    Dance music is so popular now. Because it makes people fan. There are many idols now in Japan. They sing various dances and songs while wearing pretty clothes. Attracted by them, there are many girls who want to become an idol. My favorite dance music is AKB48. Their exciting performance intoxicates people. The group of them is in Jakarta and Shanghai and is popular all over the world. In addition, K-POP is very popular now in Japan, too. They attract people by unique choreography. Because new dance music pleases eyes and an ear, and they want to dance together, I think it is popular.

  14. Gaiya Kajino 10 says:

    The reason why dance music become so popular is accepting goot point of music of various fields and young people can enjoy to sing and dance. I have danced as high school festival act before. I felt that dance is difficult, but I enjoyed.The dance music which I danced then is my favorite dance music. The dance music is love the world by Perfume.

    Modern dance music is popular in America.In past few years, dance music is a boom among American young people. At the major outdoor festival of dance music took place in all the place of America gathers hundreds of thousands of spectators.Because a genre called Electronic Dance Music hit with the U.S music chart. I think that dance music is popular all over the world now.

    http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2012-06-08/entertainment/ct-ae-0610-kot-electronic-music-20120608_1_electric-daisy-carnival-electronic-music-dance-music
    http://voices.yahoo.com/the-history-dance-music-5278969.html
    http://www.fastcodesign.com/1665393/infographic-of-the-day-the-history-of-dance-music-in-one-handy-timeline

  15. Kyoko Yamamoto 14 says:

    I think there are many people who enjoy just listen to dance music and dance using dance music. In fact, a lot of my friends and me are crazy about dance music. I think the reason why is dance music so popular now is that recently a lot of famous artists produce wounderful dance music. And more, such artists produce music video to dance to music themself. Such music and video inspired many people, and they enjoy dance music in club, party, TV, radio and so on. As various kind of social media pick up dance music in each media, dance music being popular quickly. I like listen to dance music especially R&B. When I go to KARAOKE with my friends, we enjoy such music by dancing and singing. My favorite dance video is yeah x3 is sang by Cris Brown.http://youtu.be/3mC2ixOAivA?t=1m3s
    I think in advanced country people enjoy dance music especially American are good at dance and love dancing. In my image dance is a part of life to American. In fact there are many dance party in America. For example, prom and Valentine party. But in Japan, dance music is not so poplur compared with other advanced country. Ofcouse there are people who enjoy dance music like me and my fyiends. But many people have a bad image to club playing dance music. And more in Japan such place is controled by government. A lot of people tend to think that the place playing dance music is dangerous and vulgar. In Japan many people have a such prejudice, so that dance music is not popular.
    http://dance.about.com/od/getstarteddancing/p/Dance_Music.htm

  16. Tomoki kamite No.35 says:

    I think the reason why dance music is so popular now is that these music makes people so excited.
    There are a lot of dance music like disco, hip hop, and rap. Lately, many new styles of music has created by people who mix some genre of music. This mixture music creates new sounds of music, and more and more people are interesed in these music. So I think these music is popular. In this connection, my favorite dance music is Blackout , songs by Breathe carolina.This song is club music. It makes me so excited.

    And, I think Korea is modern dance music popula in.Because, korean popular music is almost composed by modern music. So, I think Korean pop music attracts many people.

  17. Yoshie Watanabe 3 says:

    Dance music is popular. Because dance music give us not only listen music thorough ears,but also enjoy through our eyes and body. I feel exciting watching these choreography. Modern dance music popular in Japan, America and so on. I think these countries have power of rich idea and skill. However, korean k-pop gains power of skill. I feel k-pop is cool. I like this dance music by TOHO SINKI.

    In addition, I like music except the dance music too. For example, China isn’t popular in dance music. But China has a lot of good songs. I always listen to chinese songs.

  18. I think that dance music is very popular all over the world!
    In particular, a lot of people do dancing in japan.
    In turn, in foreign countries, dance is part of the life.
    I am not good at dance but I like waching dance, dance music.
    Because when I watch dance, I am in a merry mood.
    Recently, dance is pointed out.
    Because Michel Jacson was dead……..
    He is great man. so after die, he is so remarkable again all over the world.
    That is how I think dance is so notable again.
    I like this video

  19. Recently, there are a lot of groups which likes dance. These dance group is very popular in Japan.
    Dance groups make big impact on Japanes music world.For example,that is AKB48, SKE48, NMB48, EXILE. My favorite dance group is AKB48 group. They put on so cute and fashionable
    dress. The motif of this dress is high school uniform.
    In Japan, modern dance music is poppular. That is why these modern music attract so many people and makes me happy.

  20. 2-B 23 Lisa Kijima says:

    Dance music is so popular now. Because it makes people fan. There are many kinds of dance . Especially, I like hula dance. Hula dancing is a complex art form, and there are many hand motions used to represent the words in a song or chant. For example, hand movements can signify aspects of nature, such as the swaying of a tree in the breeze or a wave in the ocean. I think hula makes people kind hearts.

    I think modern dance music is popular in America. Hula also comes from Hawaii that part of the America.

  21. I think dance music is being popular recently . For instance primary school and junior highschool in japan introduce musicdance in PE class . Also the business world in music take in dance . Ithink the country that most taking music and dance is Korea . K-pop introduces an various dance .

  22. 2-B Satomi Yoshizawa says:

    Now,dance music is very popular about all over the world.
    Because it is much fun for everyone.
    For there is much types in dance music.
    The dance music can cheer us up sometimes,and heap us.
    I like dance music,in this connection,karaoke.

    I guess, modern dance music is popular in developed countries.
    Because,I think,the modern dance music expand electelectron music deck.
    Electelectron music deck is spreading in developed countries.

  23. I think the reoson why dance music is so popular now is that dance music has two attraction, the one is song the other is dance. Song and dance is also one attraction ob themselves. There is people who love songs and people who love dances. Dance music can attrancted both fans.
    And especially dance musics that are consisted of many members are popular. It is because the more people try to tell their message, the better audiences understand. My favorite video is one example. We understand the heart of congratuation when many people perform better than when one person performs.

    The country where dance musics are popular is the US, and thecountry where dance musics are not popular is Islamis countries. In the US, we can absorb what we like because this country accept various cultures, lifestyles, and religions. On the other hand Islam limit people’s lives.In the contries where there are strong power of religion or autocrat, cultures of the countries often are limited.

  24. Shohei Takahashi #15 says:

    I think that the impression for the dance of people changes recently. When it is now,even the physical education of the junior high school makes a dance required. The recent idol boom is one of a tendency toward dance popular one. I likes dance idols unit. I like in particular AKB groups. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkHlnWFnA0c 
    I think that dance music units are popular in various countries now. They make us happy. Therefore I support dance music.

  25. Kenta Maekawa #20 says:

    I have never interested in dance music until now, but I think young people who love it are increasing these days. In Japan, there were singers have a only target to sing a song. Recently, Many singers and groups are try to dance in promotion videos as performance. The number of singers who sing with dance is increasing. Although, there are students already mentioned at this page, Arashi, AKB48, Lady Gaga etc… are correspond.
    I think dance have power to cheer up feel of people. I don’t know about dance, but I will become fine if I seen it. Now, Young people who hold uneasiness are increasing in number. So I think that it is a time which gropes for how to cancel stress.

  26. (2)Risa shiramine says:

    I think dance music is so popular because it has good rhythm that people are easy to receive. Modern young people often watch YouTube. They have many chances to find a lot of good dance musics. So, dance music is essential for everyday life. Moreover, so popular dance music has some other good points. For example, cheerful, choreography, perfect dance and so on. I like Kis-My-Ft2. They are Johnny’s group. When I watch them, I feel happiness. In addition, modern dance music is so popular in Korea and the United States. I think that because they have a big music market. So, their country promote many dance music for all over the world. But dance music is not popular in China and North Korea. I think their countries don’t expand a music market. Moreover, the reason for this is limited to enjoy amusement.

  27. Jun Sudo #17 says:

    I like dance music.I think Why dance music is so popular now is that the dance music can raise people’s feeling and can delight it.When I myself want to raise feeling, dance music is often listened to. I like Gangnam Style. Because this music good for music and thier dance is very cool.
    I listen to this music everyday.It can become fine if this music is listened to.

  28. Kyohei Yamauchi #29 says:

    I think dance music has various representation. For example, the words of a song, a song music and dance. And dance music is so cool, beautiful or pretty. So I like it. This is one of my favorite dance music.

    Please see it from 1:50~

    I think dance music is very popular in Japan, Korea and the USA. And I think dance music is not popular in the UK. Because I think the UK rock is the most popular in the UK. But most major countries have many dance musics. So dance music may be popular around the world.

  29. 1 Shiori Ebisawa says:

    I think dance music is so popular now. This is because young people are focused on dance.
    And I think dance music make listening people fun. Recentry,dance music is being played in various place. I like hip-hop music and R&B. I hear this music around the city,especially shopping mall. I think people interested in and played dance are increasing.
    I play dance too, and I often listen to dance music.

    So dance music becomes so popular. The countries that dance becomes popular have tradition about dance and custom. For example, Hip-hop dance and music is popular in U.S.
    http://amazing-top10.blogspot.jp/2011/11/top-10-most-popular-dance-styles-across.html

  30. Takuro Osumi #28 says:

    There are two reasons why dance is so popular. One is that dance can express the core of a song . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9MtTmRttwcY Please watch. Dancers express honest love of the song. I like EXILE TRIBE. They are one group of them. The group name is Sandaime Japanese Soul Brothers. The dancers are excellent.
    Second,dance can makes us happy. Of course I like dance,too.

  31. 2B (10) Shinji Asano #34 says:

    I like dance music because we can entertain ourselves not only aurally but also visually by dance music. Lyric draws us into music world, and dance demonstrates emotion of lyric by physical move. My favorite video is Beast. They express wild animal (beast) in dance. Their dance is marvelous. They trained as idol in long term.

    Modern dance music is popular in USA because USA is always in center of modern music world. Musicians or dance musicians in many countries aim for advance to USA. I think that modern dance music is not popular in India because dance music in India remain in the country as yet.

Leave a Reply

